Shrove Tuesday

Shrove Tuesday or Pancake Day as it’s known in Australia was, in my mind, rivalled only by my Birthday and Christmas Day when I was growing up.

It’s not like I didn’t have pancakes any other time of the year, so I’m not entirely sure why I loved it so much, but one thing is for sure, I still LOVE this day!!!

I make my pancakes from scratch following a recipe from one of my favourite Australian Chefs – Stephanie Alexander. They are dense, slightly chewy and particularly good with lemon and sugar or maple syrup. I would encourage you all to try them.

Recipe (I could easily have doubled this):
250 grams plain flour.
60 grams butter.
1 1/2 cups of milk.
Pinch of salt.
3 eggs.

Melt the butter with the milk until just warm, then mix all ingredients together until smooth. Refrigerate for minimum of 2 hours. Cook and enjoy!
2015_02_17_Shrove_Tuesday_3

Shrove Tuesday

2015_02_17_Shrove_Tuesday_2

Leave a comment